用户名:  密码:   
网站首页即时通讯活动公告最新消息科技前沿学人动向两岸三地人在海外历届活动关于我们联系我们申请加入
栏目导航 — 美国华裔教授专家网>读者评论
关键字  范围   
共12030条评论,每页10条,当前第7/1203页
【首页】【前页】[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] 【后页】【末页】
第  页  
USC U.S.-China Institute  留言于2017-11-01 06:41:39
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.28)
Screening: Vanished Archives
Date: Friday, November 3, 2017
Time: 4:00-5:30pm
Location: Annenberg School for Communication & Journalism, ASC 204, USC
Free.

About the Film
The 1967 riots are a watershed in Hong Kong history and some would say the starting point for the development of Hong Kong consciousness. Yet the official records of this critical period today are sadly incomplete. What information can be found online is hard to verify and authenticate. Documentary film director Connie Lo Yan-wai spent four years interviewing participants of the riots, from the children of the leftist leaders of the time, to members of the "bomb squads", union leaders and patriotic students. Others who share their personal experiences include former police officers, a senior government information director, journalists and a number of witnesses and victims. Lo sifted through piles of old newspapers, government documents and declassified British government records in order to produce the documentary, Vanished Archives. As a number of those who experienced the events of the time passed away during the four years it took to produce the film, the documentary has become their final record of their recollections of and reflections on those times. Are the political entanglements between the Mainland and Hong Kong fifty years ago a mirror reflecting today''s Hong Kong? Some maintain traces of the past can be detected in the present.

Ching Cheong, a veteran journalist based in Hong Kong, will provide prescreening comments.
The film (click here to watch the trailer) is 119 minutes long and will be screened in Cantonese with English subtitles. Discussion with the director follows the screening.

Over the past two decades, Connie Yan-wai Lo worked in different media groups including the TV Division of Radio Television Hong Kong, the News and Public Affairs Department of Asia Television Limited, Fairchild TV in Canada and the News and Public Affairs Department of Television Broadcasts Limited. She has founded Studio for Public Humanities Limited in 2012 with a focus in history documentation.

USC U.S.-China Institute
3502 Watt Way, ASC G24
Los Angeles, CA 90089
uschina@usc.edu
ALPHA-LA  留言于2017-11-01 02:02:37
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.28)
Dear Friends:
Please join us at the unveil ceremony of the monument for Dr. Robert Wilson who remained in Nanjing during 1937 and saved thousands of lives.

Date: November 12th Sunday at 11:00 A.M
Venue:United Methodist Church
400 W Durate Road, (Cross with Holly)
Arcadia, CA 91007
International Conference, Maynooth University, Ire  留言于2017-11-01 01:52:57
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.28)
Dear colleagues,
The Mathematics Education for the Future Project was founded in 1986 as an international non-profit independent body to support and encourage innovation in mathematics, science, statistics and computer education. Since 1999 we have held 14 international conferences throughout the world culminating in our Hungary Conference in September 2017 which was attended by 125 people from 22 countries. Our conferences are renowned for their friendly and productive atmosphere and are attended by many of the movers and shakers in innovation in mathematics education. Please see the attached Second Announcement of the Hungary Conference and also the photo albums of our last three conferences at https://alantrogerson.imgur.com/

We are now planning our next conference to be held in Maynooth University, Ireland in 2019 from Aug 4 (arrival and welcome reception only) - Aug 9th (departure day only) so 5 nights and 4 working days. If you are interested in attending would you be kind enough to return this email with your responses below, a simple X would be fine. Please note we do not take your responses as promises or guarantees, this survey is simply to get an idea of INTENTIONS and really does help us with advance planning.
Best wishes,

International Coordinator of the Mathematics Education for the Future Project
Please check out the new website address for DQME: http://www.dqime.uni-dortmund.de
NECINA  留言于2017-10-31 12:16:28
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.28)
NECINA E Club Lunch Meetup - 11/02
NECINA E Club will have a lunch meetup on Thursday, November 2nd from 12-1:30pm in Natick. We will catch up with everyone, discus our plan, share our business experience, seek suggestions from all E Club members. We have also invited NECINA president, board members and successful entrepreneurs to join us. All E Club members are invited. If you own a tech/biotech company, you are welcome to join us after you become an E Club member. Please email eclub@necina.org to reserve your seat.

About E Club:
NECINA Entrepreneur Club (E Club) is a community of technology company founders and Executives. Through its partnership with other businesses or organizations, E Club organizes regular meetings/network events, and provides a resourceful platform for E Club members to get training, conduct network, and promote their businesses.

Missions:
The missions of the club are:
* To leverage NECINA resources to connect the club members to more senior and successful entrepreneurs, VCs and service firms as well as business counterparts in Asia to seek mentors, advices and business opportunities.
* To provide a social network platform for the entrepreneurs to share their successful stories and lessons learned, and help each other Membership Qualification
To join E Club, you need to be (1) a NECINA member, and (2) a founder/co-founder or an executive of a technology company

Contact Us
eclub@necina.org
UCLA Center for Chinese Studies  留言于2017-10-31 07:37:17
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.28)
Travels with Chaekgeori: An Art Historical Journey with Korean Screen Painting
Saturday, November 04, 2017
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Lenart Auditorium - UCLA Fowler Museum

30th Annual Sammy Yukuan Lee Lecture
Cultures appropriate from near and far, for reasons all their own, and they often adapt their borrowings to local standards without knowing the issues that gave rise to these borrowings in the first place. Derived from Chinese models, the Korean genre of chaekgeori – multi-panel screen paintings and scrolls depicting books, antiques, and other collectables – represents their scholars'''' love of Chinese arts and literature and was initially promoted for political and nationalist purposes. But a still-longer historical sequence underlay chaekgeori, leading back through Qing court culture and Jesuits in China to 15th-century depictions of European scholars' studios. Following separate lines of development in Europe and China, the European scholar's studio gave rise to public museums in the West, while their derivatives failed to do so in China and Korea until a much later date. Why this difference? Such developments exemplify how style and its meanings can become detached and transmitted separately, embedded yet hidden in a global history of meanings and purposes unseen by most who produced and patronized the arts.

About Sammy Lee Lecture Series
First presented in 1982 in celebration of his 80th birthday, the Sammy Yukuan Lee Lectures on Chinese Art and Archaeology honors the life and philanthropy of respected businessman, art collector, and Chinese art authority, Sammy Yukuan Lee. This series is presented annually by the UCLA Center for Chinese Studies with support from the Sammy Yukuan Lee Foundation, and in partnership with the Fowler Museum at UCLA.


11381 Bunche Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: (310) 825-8683
Fax: (310) 206-3555
Chinese Studies UCLA  留言于2017-10-31 07:35:18
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.28)
Myths My Teachers Believed about Song-Yuan Painting History
Friday, November 03, 2017
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Bunche Hall 6275, UCLA
Sammy Lee Seminar by Jerome Silbergeld, Princeton University
MYTHS MY TEACHERS BELIEVED ABOUT SONG-YUAN PAINTING HISTORY
and what this means for Chinese art historical practice today

Chinese painting history is a thriving, growing, changing, and diverse discipline. Song and Yuan painting lay at the core of my teachers'' academic interests, Song naturalism and the rise of Yuan literati painting. Everything grew out of this. To some in my generation, many of our teachers''
UCLA Center for Chinese Studies  留言于2017-10-26 08:36:36
评论:《即时通讯》周电—2017年第26期(10/6-10/12)
The Fall and Rise of Typical Sampling in 1950s China: Locating ‘Method' in Great Leap ‘Madness''
Thursday, October 26, 2017
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Bunche Hall 10383, UCLA
Talk by Arunabh Ghosh, Harvard University
1958 marks a watershed in the history of the early People’s Republic of China (PRC). The execution of the first five-year plan (1953-57) had been a success, meeting and in many cases exceeding targets. And yet, instead of a second five-year plan that built upon the first one, China was launched down the path of the Great Leap Forward (GLF; 1958-1961). Today, the GLF is inextricably linked with the massive famine that followed in its wake. As a subject of research, the GLF and the famine have been explored from various perspectives and the total number of deaths remains a hotly contested subject. Such scholarship typically acknowledges—though often only in passing—that the GLF was accompanied by the dismantling of statistical work, which fundamentally crippled the state and leadership’s ability to access reliable data. There does not exist, however, any detailed account of what precisely such ‘dismantling’ meant. In this paper, I explore that question by tracing the evolution of statistical capacity building since the establishment of the PRC in 1949 and determining what precisely happened to statistics and statistical work during the GLF. Relying upon archival reports, newspapers, contemporary professional journals, and memoirs, I trace how a form of typical sampling—典型调查 (dianxing diaocha)—was revalidated as the only true way to ascertain social fact. Such an exercise can help us think more broadly about the history of data, state (technical) capacity, and the ways in which ideas about ‘accurate’ and ‘representative’ measurement remain at the heart of global modernity.

UCLA Center for Chinese Studies
11381 Bunche Hall, Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: (310) 825-8683
Fax: (310) 206-3555
china@international.ucla.edu
SICC  留言于2017-10-25 08:52:01
评论:UPDATE - From The Chinese American Professors and Professionals Network (2017 No.27)
COMPLEX NETWORKS: THEORY, METHODS, AND APPLICATIONS(4th edition)
Lake Como School of Advanced Studies
Villa del Grumello, Como, Italy, 14-18 May 2018
http://ntmd.lakecomoschool.org/
DEADLINE FOR APPLICATION: February 18, 2018
Many real systems can be modeled as networks, where the elements of the system are nodes and interactions between elements are edges. An even larger set of systems can be modeled using dynamical processes on networks, which are in turn affected by the dynamics. Networks thus represent the backbone of many complex systems, and their theoretical and computational analysis makes it possible to gain insights into numerous applications. Networks permeate almost every conceivable discipline---including sociology, transportation, economics and finance, biology, and myriad others---and the study of "network science" has thus become a crucial component of modern scientific education.

The school "Complex Networks: Theory, Methods, and Applications" offers a succinct education in network science. It is open to all aspiring scholars in any area of science or engineering who wish to study networks of any kind (whether theoretical or applied), and it is especially addressed to doctoral students and young postdoctoral scholars. The aim of the school is to deepen into both theoretical developments and applications in targeted fields.

LECTURERS
.ALBERT-LASZLO BARABASI, Northeastern University and Harvard University
.STEFANO BATTISTON, University of Zurich
.ULRIK BRANDES, ETH Zurich
.VITTORIA COLIZZA, Inserm & Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, and ISI Foundation, Turin
.PUCK ROMBACH, University of Vermont
.ALESSANDRO VESPIGNANI, Northeastern University

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE
STEFANO BATTISTON, University of Zurich --- GINESTRA BIANCONI, Queen Mary University of London --- VITTORIA COLIZZA, Inserm & Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, and ISI Foundation, Turin --- JAMES GLEESON, University of Limerick --- PETTER HOLME, Tokio Institute of Technology --- YAMIR MORENO, University of Zaragoza --- CARLO PICCARDI, Politecnico di Milano --- MASON A. PORTER, UCLA

PROGRAM
Monday, 14 May, morning
Network Science: From Structure to Control (Barabasi)
Monday, 14 May, afternoon
Mesoscale Analysis of Networks (Rombach)
Tuesday, 15 May, morning
Taming Complexity: Controlling Networks (Barabasi)
Tuesday, 15 May, afternoon
no lectures
Wednesday, 16 May, morning
Centrality in Networks (Brandes)
Wednesday, 16 May, afternoon
short talks by students
Thursday, 17 May, morning
Contagion in Networks/1 – Financial Systems (Battiston)
Thursday, 17 May, afternoon
no lectures
Friday, 18 May, morning
Contagion in Networks/2 – Epidemic Spreading (Colizza)
Friday, 18 May, afternoon
Contagion in Networks/3 – Epidemic Spreading (Vespignani)
For more information and application:
http://ntmd.lakecomoschool.org/

SICC - Italian Society for Chaos and Complexity
http://www.sicc-it.org
Y90  留言于2017-10-25 04:57:17
评论:馨心相映
人们常说,我们可以用一年学会说话,但是却要用一生学会闭嘴。有的人可以因为两毛钱在菜市场里跟人破口大骂,有的人即使被人误解也可以满面春风。而这两者之间的差距,就叫做格局。决定格局最重要的一点,是视野。当我们在二楼的时候,看到的会是满地的垃圾;而在二十二楼的时候,会将满城的风景,尽收眼底。不同的楼层,就会有不同的视野和心态。人也一样,当我们迈入了一个新的高度,达到了更高的境界,就会有不一样的视野和胸怀。每一个人都是在自己的视野范围内做判断,如果和井底之蛙说,天不是井口大小,它肯定认为你是个骗子,因为它看到的天就是井口大小。它的视野决定了它的格局。
不可能每个人都是含着金钥匙出生,但是我们可以通过不断进步,提升自己的格局,改变自己的命运。而你遇过的人,读过的书,走过的路,这些就构成了你的人生格局。遇过的人:满怀感恩,有所取舍。
以欢喜心看事,事事皆为我而生;以感恩心看人,人人皆为我而来。在每个人的生命历程中总会遇到很多人,人生的际遇并非寻常,在我们生命中出现的人就是我们今生有缘遇到的人,因此我们应该感恩生命中遇到的每一个人。感恩亲人,感恩朋友,感恩陌生人,也感恩那些给我们带来麻烦、困扰甚至痛苦的人,是他们让我们懂得了人世间的真、善、美与假、恶、丑,是他们让我们看清了人性中的另一面,考验了我们的坚强,使我们成长和成熟。
遇到爱你的人,学会回报;遇到你爱的人,学会付出。
遇到你恨的人,学会原谅;遇到恨你的人,学会道歉。
遇到欣赏你的人,学会笑纳;遇到你欣赏的人,学会赞美。
遇到不懂你的人,学会沟通;遇到你不懂的人,学会理解。
感恩之外,我们还要警惕,在今后的生活中,不必把太多的人请进我们的生命里。太多人,请进生命里,若是他们走进不了我们的内心,就只会把我们的生命搅扰得一地鸡毛。把自己宝贵的时间和精力留给自己关心的人,留给懂自己的人,别在不喜欢你的人那里丢了快乐。摆脱没意义的饭局,乐得清静;远离看不起你的亲戚,和虚情假意的朋友。
读过的书:变化气质,沉淀灵魂。曾国藩说:“人之气质,由于天生,很难改变,唯读书则可以变其气质。古之精于相法者,并言读书可以变换骨相。”锻炼与不锻炼的人,隔一天看,没有任何区别;隔一个月看,差异甚微;但是隔五年十年看,身体和精神状态上就有了巨大差别。读书也是一样的道理,读书与不读书的人,日积月累,终成天渊之别。一个人读过很多书,但是后来往往大部分都忘记了,这样的阅读究竟有没有意义?其实,当我们还是个孩子的时候,吃过很多食物,现在已经记不起来吃过什么了。但可以肯定的是,它们中的一部分已经长成我们的骨头和血肉。
一个人认真读过的书其实早已融进他的灵魂,沉淀成智慧和情感,只要一个触动点,就会喷薄而出。有人说,就算你读了那么多的书,懂了那么多的大道理,却依旧过不好这一生。其实,读书并不一定能给我们带来现实的利益和好处,读书这个行为仅仅意味着:我们没有完全认同这个世界和现实,我们还有精神生活,还有梦想,还有追求,还在奋斗;我们还不满足,还在寻找生命的另一种可能,另一种生活方式。
读书,是为了避免被琐屑生活打磨得麻木不仁;读书,是为了成为一个有温度懂情趣会思考的人。走过的路:一路风清,且行且惜。古人说:“读万卷书,行万里路。” 一个人所行走的范畴就是他的世界,北岛曾经这么说过。每个人所走的路都有不同,脚下走过的,留下的都是一条截然不同的路。也不必羡慕别人的路,我有我的独木桥,你走你的阳关道。曾有人说,读万卷书,不如行万里路。其实,行路也是一种阅读,一个读的是有字书,一个读的是无字书。读书,是在字里行间行走,古今中外在脑海里翻腾;行路,是在阅读天地万物,一草一木都被我们辨识。在路途中,我们会经历很多,所谓见多识广,了解别人和自己,我们的心胸会变得更宽广,以更好的心态去面对自己的生活,从而扩大我们的人生格局。
人间没有永恒的风景,没有永远的人,也不必悲观,毕竟生活不止眼前的苟且,还有诗和远方。生命的禅意不在一经一卷中,而在一呼一念里;心态的超脱不在一字一句中,而在一言一行里。走过了,经历过了,就是人生的路。只愿一路风清,且行且珍惜!
AY  留言于2017-10-25 04:38:27
评论:美国没有户籍制度为什么没有天下大乱?
美国很纠结,不知道拿中国怎么办?
入侵中国吧,她可能把你吞了;你不入侵中国吧,中国人就特别“和平”地入侵你。有钱的没钱的全来了,旅游的,留学的,投资的,走迷路的,全来了。美国的航母顶多在离中国不远的地方趴着; 而中国的和平大军不一样,一进美国就玩“军民鱼水情”,女人们跟打歼灭战似的就把美国男人给嫁了,不出几年,新一代的美国公民全能用中文叫妈叫爸了。哪个民族架得住这样同化呀!
美国人本来想用麦当劳、肯德基同化中国。可是,没过几年功夫,“肯德基” 就开始卖豆浆油条,到底谁在同化谁呀?据初步统计,在美国的中餐馆有执照的已有上百万家,散布在所有有人类喘气的地方,比任何连锁店都厉害。美国成年人能独立用两根木棍儿吃饱饭的高达百分之八十;而且百分之二十五的美国人开始迷恋上啃鸡爪子,百分之五的美国人认为臭豆腐是香的。
近日来美国出现枪杀案,不少中国人说:“白人开枪,黑人抢劫,老墨贩毒,就中国人安分守法,言外之意让中国人接管美国,其余各族人民哪来回哪儿,退回原籍。好给中国人腾地儿。”
走进美国大学,学生一半以上是从中国来的,教授也是从中国来的,有时讲着讲着课就换中文了,让美国学生在自己的国土有种“亡国奴”的感觉。说真的,中国的语言实在不是人学的。上汉语的第一课,中国老师就告诉我们英语的 “I” ( “我”的意思 )译成中文有: “我,奴辈,鄙人,卑职,晚辈,晚生,在下,老夫,老朽,老子,你大爷我"……等等意思。美国人听完当时就晕了,这才是一个最简单的“我”字呀。
中国人不但用文化,还用言传身教来同化美国。比如说,原来美国家庭主妇很少有买菜挑来挑去的好习惯,现在和中国女人学的,买扁豆时一根一根挑,还用大拇哥的指甲狠狠地掐一下,看看是不是嫩。逼得超市没办法,只好用两种语言写个牌子“请勿掐 ! ” ( No Pinching! ) 去美国大超市,只需扫一眼瓜果梨桃上面的手指印,就能立刻断定:看,中国人刚刚来过。只有中国人的手劲才能把西红柿和茄子掐成样!美国人一天天被同化着。早晨,越来越多的美国人在练太极拳。入夜,数学不好的美国人民围在一张桌子上玩最简单的麻将。过生日的时候,美国人民百分之百跑调儿地高唱卡拉OK;掀开背心,很多人会自豪地让你看他们纹在身上的中国字——我是聋的传人!
在这种氛围下,美国的西点军校也开讲孙子兵法了。开课十天,西点学校就出现了阶级斗争的苗头。原本缺心眼的美国学员开始熟练使用 “落井下石,声东击西” 等传统谋略。女学员为了得好分开始给教官施 “美人计,离间计”;同性恋学员们互相施“反间计和苦肉计”等等。
中国人来了。中国人如黄河之水,坐着飞机从天上下来,所向披靡地涌进美国。这时候,美国人才真正理解为什么慈禧太后当年闭关锁国,不让中国人出去,就是为了不给世界国家添堵啊!……
【首页】【前页】[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] 【后页】【末页】
第  页  
共12030条评论,每页10条,当前第7/1203页
网站公告
公告一览
文章概貌
最新文章一览
热门文章总排行
近期热门文章
本月热门文章
本年度热门文章
读者评论
读者评论一览
美国华裔教授专家网 ScholarsUpdate.com LOGO
关于我们联系我们申请加入后台管理设为主页加入收藏
美国华裔教授专家网版权所有,谢绝拷贝。如欲选登或发表,请与美国华裔教授专家网联系。
Copyright © 2017 ScholarsUpdate.com. All Rights Reserved.